Head-to-head · Facts only
Bookly vs The StoryGraph: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
The StoryGraph
The StoryGraph Limited
iOS · ANDROID · WEB
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsOn record
- Privacy labelOn record
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 7 of 8
How do Bookly and The StoryGraph compare row by row?
| Card row | Bookly | The StoryGraph |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Barcode scanner. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Kobo progress sync, live since June 29, 2026. SourceSource: Rakuten Kobo: Kobo to StoryGraph sync now live · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Annual listening goals alongside reading and page goals. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Charts of moods, pace and genres, plus reading challenges. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Book clubs, buddy reads and readalongs with comments locked until you reach that point. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Label lists contact info, user content, identifiers, usage data and diagnostics linked to you; no data used to track you. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free core app; Plus is optional. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources No place-finding feature published. SourceSource: thestorygraph.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Buddy reads and book clubs. SourceSource: thestorygraph.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Free core app. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Android app | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record On Android. SourceSource: thestorygraph.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Web app at app.thestorygraph.com. SourceSource: The StoryGraph on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do Bookly and The StoryGraph cost?
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
The StoryGraph
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free core app
Source: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
- StoryGraph Plus: $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year
Source: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
The StoryGraph
Imports currently-reading, read, to-read and did-not-finish shelves from Goodreads; custom shelves become tags.
Source: thestorygraph.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
CSV export from Settings, sent as an emailed link.
Source: Literal guide: importing from StoryGraph · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
The StoryGraph
The App Store privacy label lists analytics, user content, contact info, identifiers and usage data linked to you.
Source: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Some features sit in StoryGraph Plus at $4.99 a month.
Source: The StoryGraph on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Bookly if
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Choose The StoryGraph if
- you read with a club or a buddy
- you want an App Store label that lists no data used to track you
- you do not want a subscription
- you want to use it in a browser too
- Readers who want to see their reading in charts and still read with friends.
Common questions
Is Bookly better than The StoryGraph?
Neither is better for every reader. Bookly has nothing on record that The StoryGraph lacks, while The StoryGraph has clubs or shared reads, a privacy label without tracking data, a way to use it without a subscription and a web version. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Bookly or The StoryGraph?
Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. The StoryGraph: Free core app; StoryGraph Plus: $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Bookly and The StoryGraph together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
Bookly profileThe StoryGraph profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table