Head-to-head · Facts only
Bookly vs Magic Bookmark: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Magic Bookmark
Yomu Inc.
iOS
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsNot offered
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upOn record
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 5 of 8
How do Bookly and Magic Bookmark compare row by row?
| Card row | Bookly | Magic Bookmark |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record A photo of your current page, or the page number, finds your exact place in a hardcover or paperback. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ebooks | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record magicbookmark.com lists ebooks among supported formats. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Audiobooks | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Enter the last phrase you heard to find your place. SourceSource: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered No goals, streaks or reading stats. SourceSource: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered No clubs or friends features. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Privacy label | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not offered Label lists identifiers used to track you. SourceSource: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Pay per book: one Bookmark Credit per book, credits never expire; no subscription is listed. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Exact place from a photo or a phrase, and who's who without anything past your place. SourceSource: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered No social features. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not offered Free to download; each book needs a credit ($4.99 for one on magicbookmark.com). SourceSource: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Android app | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered Android is on the roadmap for later. SourceSource: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources iPhone only; no web version published. SourceSource: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do Bookly and Magic Bookmark cost?
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Magic Bookmark
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free to download, with in-app purchases
Source: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- Bookmark Credits on magicbookmark.com: 1 for $4.99, 5 for $19.99 ($4.00 each), 10 for $34.99 ($3.50 each), 50 for $69.99 ($1.40 each)
Source: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- One credit per book; credits never expire; no subscription is listed
Source: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Magic Bookmark
Import and export: not in our sources.
Source: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Magic Bookmark
No reading goals, streaks or stats.
Source: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No import or export on the pages we read.
Source: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
No clubs or friends features.
Source: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
Works only with supported titles, focused on BookTok genres.
Source: magicbookmark.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
iPhone only; Android is on the roadmap for later.
Source: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers used to track you.
Source: Magic Bookmark on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Each book costs one credit: $4.99 bought singly, down to $1.40 each in a 50-credit pack.
Source: magicbookmark.com (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose Bookly if
- you want goals, streaks or reading stats
- you use Android
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Choose Magic Bookmark if
- you do not want a subscription
- you often need to find your place again after a break
- Readers who put a book down for a while and want back in without spoilers.
Common questions
Is Bookly better than Magic Bookmark?
Neither is better for every reader. Only Bookly has goals and stats and an Android app; only Magic Bookmark has a way to use it without a subscription and a feature for picking a book back up. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, Bookly or Magic Bookmark?
Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. Magic Bookmark: Free to download, with in-app purchases; Bookmark Credits on magicbookmark.com: 1 for $4.99, 5 for $19.99 ($4.00 each), 10 for $34.99 ($3.50 each), 50 for $69.99 ($1.40 each); One credit per book; credits never expire; no subscription is listed. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use Bookly and Magic Bookmark together?
Yes, and many readers would. Magic Bookmark does not log books or keep stats, so it pairs with a tracker such as Bookly: the tracker keeps your history and Magic Bookmark finds your place in a supported book after a break.
Bookly profileMagic Bookmark profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table