Head-to-head · Facts only
BookBuddy vs Bookly: which reading tracker fits how you read?
Short answer
By The Shelf Desk · Published 2026-10-08 · Facts read September 2026, updated 2026-10-11
Desk research from public app store listings, app websites and help pages, read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11. Fact profiles, not scores; we did not test the apps hands-on.
BookBuddy
Kimico, Ltd.
iOS · MAC
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksNot in our sources
- AudiobooksNot in our sources
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelOn record
- Ways to payOn record
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
Bookly
TwoDoor Games (TWODOOR GAMES SRL)
iOS · MAC · ANDROID
- Print booksOn record
- EbooksOn record
- AudiobooksOn record
- Goals and statsOn record
- Clubs and shared readsNot offered
- Privacy labelNot offered
- Ways to payNot in our sources
- Picking a book back upNot in our sources
Facts read Sep 2026 · updated 11 Oct 2026 · On record: 4 of 8
How do BookBuddy and Bookly compare row by row?
| Card row | BookBuddy | Bookly |
|---|---|---|
| Print books | On record Barcode scanning with the iPhone camera or a Bluetooth scanner; loans and shelf locations. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Scans ISBN barcodes. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ebooks | Not in our sources Ebook format tracking is not published. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Tracks e-books. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Audiobooks | Not in our sources Audiobook format tracking is not published. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record Tracks audiobooks. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Goals and stats | On record Books finished and pages read. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | On record Reading speed, session stats and daily to yearly goals. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Clubs and shared reads | Not offered No clubs or social feed. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not offered No in-app clubs; readathons instead. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Privacy label | On record Label lists contact info and identifiers linked to you; no data used to track you. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not offered Label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Ways to pay | On record Free up to 50 books; a one-time upgrade removes the limit. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources In-app purchases are mostly subscriptions; the $79.99 Bookly Pro item has no term stated. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Picking a book back up | Not in our sources Records where a copy is and who borrowed it; no place-finding feature. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Timer and page log; no place-finding feature published. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Any social features | Not in our sources Optional paid Online Sharing from $1.99 a month. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Readathons. SourceSource: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Core features free | On record All Pro features free up to 50 books. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources Free download; free-tier limits are not published. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Android app | Not offered No Android app; the App Store lists iPhone, iPad and Mac with Apple silicon. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | On record On Android. SourceSource: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Web version | Not in our sources Only the paid BookBuddy Companion sharing site; a full web app is not published. SourceSource: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources A web version is not published. SourceSource: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
What do BookBuddy and Bookly cost?
BookBuddy
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free, with every Pro feature, up to 50 books
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- BookBuddy Pro (lifetime): $9.99
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
- Online Sharing: from $1.99 a month, optional
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Bookly
Price (US App Store or the app's own page, read September and October 2026)
- Free with in-app purchases
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
- US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Can you move your reading history between them?
BookBuddy
CSV import from Goodreads, LibraryThing and Google Books.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export as CSV, PDF or HTML.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Bookly
Goodreads import, listed on Google Play.
Source: Bookly on Google Play · Read 27 Sep 2026
Export: not in our sources.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
What are the limits of each?
BookBuddy
Apple devices only: no Android app.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
No clubs or social feed; sharing is a paid add-on.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
Ebook and audiobook format tracking are not published.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
The current listing requires iOS 26.0 or later.
Source: BookBuddy on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Bookly
The App Store privacy label lists identifiers and usage data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the uses.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Many overlapping Pro options on the App Store.
Source: Bookly on the US App Store · Read 27 Sep 2026
No in-app book clubs; community is through readathons.
Source: getbookly.com · Read 27 Sep 2026
The Google Play listing says it contains ads.
Source: Bookly on Google Play (October 2026) · Read 11 Oct 2026
Which one fits you?
Choose BookBuddy if
- you want an App Store label that lists no data used to track you
- you do not want a subscription
- Readers who own a lot of print books and want to know where each copy is.
Choose Bookly if
- you read ebooks and want them in your log
- you listen to audiobooks
- you use Android
- Readers who like to time their reading and see their speed and streaks.
Common questions
Is BookBuddy better than Bookly?
Neither is better for every reader. Only BookBuddy has a privacy label without tracking data and a way to use it without a subscription; only Bookly has ebook support, audiobook support and an Android app. The tracker finder shows which one matches your own answers.
Which is cheaper, BookBuddy or Bookly?
BookBuddy: Free, with every Pro feature, up to 50 books; BookBuddy Pro (lifetime): $9.99; Online Sharing: from $1.99 a month, optional. Bookly: Free with in-app purchases; US App Store in-app purchases include Monthly Pro $4.99, Yearly Pro $29.99, Six Months of Pro $19.99, Monthly Pro Family Plan $9.99 and a $79.99 Bookly Pro item whose term is not stated; discounted yearly offers are also listed. These are US prices read in September 2026 and updated on 2026-10-11.
Can I use BookBuddy and Bookly together?
You can, but most readers keep one reading log. If you plan to switch, compare the import and export facts above first.
BookBuddy profileBookly profileTry the tracker finderSee both in the full table